Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
bangles801
1 août 2010

Do you also envision having your own label

I don't really have a desire to do my own label, to be honest with you. It's like a pain in the ass [cheap earrings], because you've got to deal with so much irrelevant stuff. To do like me times six or seven other people, I don't know. I might totally lose it. I have more of a desire to bring talented people to the forefront and help support them. That's why 1 see myself doing more of the writer/producer thing. But not necessarily running a label because labels are dying. It's a whole different world.

You could feel the fun you were having performing "Empire State of Mind" with Jay-Z during the World Series. What jazzes you about being onstage?

One of my favorite things is experiencing the spontaneous moment that only happens once. No matter how many times you perform, you never have the same moment twice, And I love that. I love the magic ofthat one moment in that one place shared only by myself and all the people who attended that night. It's our special connection. There's nothing like the energy, communication and unity that happens through music. Even if you don't speak the same language, you understand music.

In the meantime, you've established a new company called AK Worldwide. How did you come up with its slogan: "The business of inspiration"?

AKW is the home base for everything I'm involved in presently and cheap jewelry to become involved with in the future. [Her AKW team includes managing director Erika Rose and director of operations DJ Walton.] And its slogan means a lot to me. When I first started in this business, I was really young and trying to figure out' how to balance and make everything work. It wasn't until about 18 months ago that it all made sense to me. That for me - through my music and the various ventures I've done so far - there's a certain inspiration aspect that goes along with the kind of businesses I want to be involved in.

I'd always wondered why I was so attracted to the model of Oprah Winfrey, and 1 realized it's because she's able to do things in an incredible way that somehow touches your life and makes you think about things in a whole new way. There's a lot of inspiration in what she does and gives to the world.

And that's where I feel comfortable, working with what feels natural and authentic. There's enough in the world that focuses on the other side. I'd like to focus on what can lift us up as a people, help us learn and be open to new things.

Besides your philanthropic endeavor, Keep a Child Alive, what other AKW ventures are being planned?

A new partnership I'm involved with is a jewelry tine called the Barber's Daughters. I met a designer [Gisèle Theriault] in Toronto who makes gorgeous jewelry. I was just so shocked and stunned by her work. Not only is it all done by hand but it's also handengraved with beautiful words and phrases. Being a lyricist, I love cheap key rings. And every word written on this jewelry gives you something to think about, to strive for or lift you up in your journey. You can feel the words on your skin as if it's your own personal mantra. [Keys will debut the collection Nov. 23-24 at a public event at Collette Blanchard Gallery in New York.]

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité